Table of Contents Previous Next



Options in the User Administration section of the Admin tab provide extended management functionality for an administrative user. The functionality offered is host and configuration specific.
C:\Users\susan\Desktop\Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 2.41.30 PM.png
If available for your configuration, you can click the Add User button to access the Add User dialog (see Figure 4.38) and register a new user account for the Ark console.
C:\Users\susan\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware-susan\VMwareDnD\a47cfe0e\Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 8.53.37 AM.png
Use the Login field to provide the identifier that the user will provide when logging in to the console; each identifier must be unique.
Check the box next to Enabled if the user should be allowed to log in to the console.
If applicable, select a previously defined Amazon role ARN from the drop-down list in the Role field, or copy a different role ARN into the field. The role ARN must be defined on the AWS console by an Amazon administrator. Each role will be able to access all clusters that are created by users that share the common role ARN. To create an isolated user environment, a user must have a unique Amazon role ARN.
If you copy an Amazon role ARN into the Role field, a popup will open, prompting you for the AWS ExternalId associated with the user. To locate the ExternalId, connect to the Amazon management console, and navigate to the IAM Roles page. Select the role name from the list, and then click Trust Relationships tab. The ExternalId associated with the Role ARN is displayed in the Conditions section of the Summary page.
If the Edit User button is displayed, you can use the Edit User dialog to modify user properties. Highlight a user name, and click the Edit User button to open the Edit User dialog (see Figure 4.39).
C:\Users\susan\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware-susan\VMwareDnD\7d27c90c\Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 11.06.19 AM.png
Enabled fields on the Details tab may be modified; use the Info tab to review information about the user account and account activities.
If displayed, you can use buttons below the User Administration table to manage user objects. Highlight a user name, and click:
The Delete Clusters button to delete all clusters that belong to the selected user.
The Delete Snapshots button to delete any cluster backups that belong to the selected user.
After deleting the objects owned by a user, the Delete User button will remove the user account. To delete a user, highlight the name of a user in the user table, and click the Delete User button. The Ark console will ask you to confirm that you wish to delete the selected user before removing the account. Click Delete to remove the user account, or Cancel to exit the popup without deleting the account.


Table of Contents Previous Next