Table of Contents Previous Next



When you register with PEM during console deployment, the PEM Sync Mode field will be enabled. Use the drop-down listbox in the PEM Sync Mode field to specify your preference for synchronizing with the PEM server.
Any object that Ark registers with PEM will be owned by the PEM user specified in the PEM Server Username field (if the PEM server is a REMOTE server), or by postgres (if the PEM server resides on the host of the LOCAL Ark server).
C:\Users\susan\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware-susan\VMwareDnD\42419294\Screen Shot 2018-06-28 at 2.14.03 PM.png
Each user that registers with a monitored Ark instance is also created as a PEM Login user. The user account will be displayed in the Login/Group Roles node of the PEM client tree control. To access the properties dialog for the user, right click on the user name, and select Properties from the context menu.
Each PEM user account that corresponds with a registered Ark user will belong to the ark-user role. The PEM user account will also have membership in any ark-team roles that have been created to correspond to the project, role, or groups that the Ark user has permission to access (see Figure 2.10).
C:\Users\susan\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware-susan\VMwareDnD\c1c31699\Screen Shot 2018-06-28 at 2.18.24 PM.png
If you use the Ark console to delete an Ark user, the synchronization service will disable the corresponding user on the PEM server. The service will ensure that membership in ark-user is revoked, and the role will no longer be a LOGIN role. Please note that the sync service will only modify those roles that are a member of the ark-user team.
The sync service will also ensure that the corresponding pem-team role is deleted if a tenant, group, or role is deleted on an Ark host.
C:\Users\susan\AppData\Local\Temp\vmware-susan\VMwareDnD\0f370660\Screen Shot 2018-06-28 at 2.36.15 PM.png
Ark will sync with PEM on the schedule specified by the PEM Synchronization Interval field. The field accepts interval values in minutes; by default, Ark will attempt to syncronize every 10 minutes.


Table of Contents Previous Next