The Teams/Users Tab

A team is group of users with collective permissions to access the different tabs of the administrative console based on the role(s) associated with the team. When you create (or modify) a team, you can assign membership in a role to that team. Each user in a team inherits all of the roles (privileges) of that team.

An organization can have multiple teams; similarly, a user may be a member of multiple teams.

Roles are predefined:

  • The Billing role provides access to view your account’s invoices.
  • The Provisioning role provides access to create, update/upgrade, and delete database clusters or backups.
  • The Support role provides access to documentation, white papers, support forums, and CDS support (you can send an e-mail to cds-help@enterprisedb.com to log tickets).
  • The User Management role provides access to create, edit or delete teams and other team members.
  • The Organization Admin role provides access to update payment or organization details, buy reserved CDS instances, opt for enterprise support, or view account’s current usage, etc.

You can use the Teams/Users tab to define teams and assign membership in a team to one or more users.

Description of image

The Teams/Users tab.

The Admin team is predefined, and has access to all of the functionality of each role.

Managing Teams

Click the Add Team button to open the Add Team dialog and define additional user teams for your organization.

Description of image

The Add Team dialog.

Use fields on the Add Team dialog to define a new team:

  • Enter the name of a team in the Name field.
  • Enter a description of the team in the Description field.
  • Use the Roles field to select one or more Roles in which the team has membership.

When you’re finished, click the OK button to save the team definition and continue.

You can use options in the Actions column to manage a team definition:

  • Click the Edit icon to modify a team definition. When the Update Team dialog opens, modify the team definition and select OK to preserve your changes, or select Cancel to exit without saving.
  • Select the Delete icon to delete a team. If you elect to delete a team, a popup will confirm your selection before deleting the definition.

Deleting a Team

To delete a team, highlight the team name and select the delete icon to the right of the name; when the popup opens, select Delete to delete the team, or Cancel to exit the popup without removing the team.

Deleting a team

Deleting a team.

Managing Users

To add a user to a team, select the Users tab; the tab displays a list of the currently defined users.

Description of image

The Users tab.

Click the Add User button to open the Add User dialog and add users to teams within your organization.

Description of image

The Add User dialog.

Use fields on the Add User dialog to define a new user:

  • Enter the email address of the user in the Email field.
  • Use the Teams field to specify one or more teams in which the user is a member. The user will have access to all of the administrative console tabs that are associated with the selected team(s).

When you’re finished, click the OK button to save the team definition and continue.

You can use options in the Actions column to manage a user definition:

  • Click the Edit icon to modify a user definition. When the Update User dialog opens, modify the definition and select OK to preserve your changes, or select Cancel to exit without saving.
  • Select the Delete icon to delete a team. If you elect to delete a team, a popup will confirm your selection before deleting the definition.

Deleting a User

To delete a user, highlight the user name and select the delete icon to the right of the name; when the popup opens, select Delete to delete the user, or Cancel to exit the popup without removing the user.

Description of image

Deleting a user.